Catrice Prime and Fine Mattifying Waterproof Powder

Catrice Prime and Gine Mattifying Waterproof Powder

One of the products I received from Catrice to try was the Prime and Fine Mattifying Waterproof Powder. It was my first foray into the Prime and Fine line but having tried their All Matt Plus Shine Control Powder in the past and having been so impressed with it, I was looking forward to giving this a go. Prime and Fine is a range of primers, powders and bases and their aim is pretty self explanatory.

Catrice Prime and Fine Mattifying Waterproof Powder
This is a translucent pressed powder which appears almost white in the pan. So white in fact that I worried it would leave my face looking chalky or dusty, despite my pale complexion. The packaging is really sleek and sturdy which I was impressed with. It also houses a full size mirror in the lid which is very handy for touch-ups on the go.

Catrice Prime and Fine Mattifying Waterproof Powder Before After
As you can probably see from this before and after shot, the powder does little to alter the colour of my foundation which is a relief. It applies evenly and smoothly and does a great job of mattifying the face. What I love is that it doesn’t leave a two-dimensional, flat, matte finish. Instead the skin still looks healthy – you can still see a slight sheen on my cheekbone and the tip of my nose. Catrice claim that it has a “soft focus” effect which refines the complexion and I definitely agree that it seems to blur pores and imperfections slightly. I usually prefer a coloured powder to add a little more coverage but the blurring effect of this powder means that isn’t necessary.

The powder also reapplies nicely if you top-up throughout the day which is always a huge bonus for me. Nothing worse than ending up with cake-face! What is probably even better is the fact that I don’t always have to reapply throughout the day – unless it is particularly warm. It tends to keep shine at bay for the majority of the day and when my skin’s oils begin to break through, they only leave a slight sheen as opposed to a greasy-looking mess.

Catrice say that the ‘waterproof’ aspect of the powder is seen when water hits the powder as it will roll right off. I cannot say I tested this but I definitely feel that it could be true as I had no problems with this eroding, melting, disappearing or flaking throughout the day, regardless of weather conditions or what I was doing.

In all, I cannot recommend this product enough. This is a hardworking powder that I simply cannot fault. It will set you back a measly €5.49!

Have you tried this yet? What sort of powder do you usually opt for? Or do you go powder-free?

One thought on “Catrice Prime and Fine Mattifying Waterproof Powder

Leave a Reply

